GOLF CAR LAWS

 

 

South Carolina Golf Car Laws:

All drivers must have a valid drivers license with them while operating the golf car and are permitted to drive within 4 miles of their property on secondary roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less during daylight hours only. You may cross primary roads and must obey all South Carolina traffic laws. Golf Cars are NOT permitted on the beach. You are required to purchase a state permit from your local Motor Vehicles agency and are encouraged to check with your town for any additional local golf car rules.

 

South Carolina Low Speed Vehicles Laws:

All drivers must have a valid drivers license & vehicle registration with them while operating a Low Speed Vehicle and are permitted to drive within any distance of their property on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less. You may cross roads with a speed limit higher than 35 mph, but can not drive down them and all South Carolina traffic laws must be obeyed. Low Speed Vehicles are NOT permitted on the beach. You are required to register a Low Speed Vehicle with your local Motor Vehicles agency, insure your Low Speed Vehicle, pay local and/or state property taxes and are encouraged to check with your town for any additional local rules.